Immortality and Other Fantasies

One of those mornings, Indranil A. was in good mood.

He looked up at the ceiling of the hostel and asked, “What is life?”

No help came from above.

He waited for a second and looked at me.

I was in no mood to help either.

He closed his eyes and said, “Life is…(a brilliant pause)

…till we die.”

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Last night Fermat came into my dream.

I was wrestling with John Nash’s paper on ‘Non-cooperative Games’.

My intelligence couldn’t decipher it. My vanity couldn’t leave it.

“Too late to understand these things”, I mumbled.

“I see”, Fermat nodded his big head.

“Don’t quit though. There’s something there that just doesn’t perish”, he was still nodding.

[Non-cooperative Games, Dissertation, John Nash, May 1950]

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.”

Thus spake Woody Allen. He figured it out.

A few cell biologists, bio-engineers and robotic engineers are joining the fray. Or so I heard.

Should I wait for them to succeed? Or should I go a way that has an equal promise?

 [TED talk by Juan Enriquez on ‘The next species of human’]

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Om Tryambakam Yajamahe,

Sugandhim Pushtivardhanam,

Urvarukamiva Bandhanan,

Mrityor Mukshiya Maamritat ll

Aum ! We worship and adore you, O three-eyed one, Shiva! You are the fragrance of life, one who nourishes us, restores our health, and causes us to thrive. Please free us from attachment and death, and do not withhold immortality.

Leave a Reply

